Single tulip flower set against white background.

Tulip wins bronze award.

I have been having a play around with some high key still life photography. I chose some tulips and carnation flowers as my subjects and set them against a white background. I  used a photography light tent, and lit the scene using a couple of powerful lamps.

It took a while to set the correct level of light in order to light the subject well without blowing out the whites or creating distracting shadows.

One of my favourite images from this series was of a single tulip. I love the way the colours look even more vivid against the plain white background. I was very pleased to hear this week that this image was awarded a bronze bar from the Guild of Photographers, taking my total up to 5 bronze awards this year.

Single tulip flower set against white background.
High key tulip flower wins bronze award.

 

I had also previously selected this image to feature on a number of products in my RedBubble shop.

Tulip Laptop skin being modelled
Laptop skin with colourful tulip design.

I felt the simple, yet beautiful nature of this single flower lent itself wonderfully to the photo products available. These can be viewed here.

Leave a Reply

