Going on a bug hunt

The other day I spent the morning playing with my macro lens at Highdown Gardens. I shared some floral macros here.

Today I thought I’d share some of the little critters I met while I was there.

First up is this cute little bee! I watched it as it climbed up the stamen of this flower, as it got to the top it paused and continued to gather the pollen.

Close up of a British Black Bee gathering pollen.
Bee. (Technical info: focal length 100mm, 1/500 at f/9.0, ISO 640)

Next we have an Azure Damselfly, which is very similar to the common Blue Damselfly. This one has a narrow band of blue behind the head (compared the the thicker band found on the Common Blue). There is also a distinguishable “U” shape on the end of the tail.

Azure Damselfly resting on a blade of grass.
Azure Damselfly (Technical info: focal length 300mm, 1/400 at f/6.3, ISO 400)

For more bugs and beasties, click here.

Leave a Reply

