Getting up close at Highdown Gardens

This week I spent a morning in one of my favourite “hidden gems”. I decided as we only had a few hours of sunshine forecast that I should stay fairly close to home, which gave me an excuse to revisit one of my favourite places, Highdown Gardens.

I love these gardens and visit at least once a month. Now, because I am a frequent visitor I am used to the peace and quiet of the place and having it pretty much to myself. It was a little different this week – the place was full of visitors! It felt very odd, but it was nice to see so many people enjoying it.

As the colourful summer flowers are now in full bloom, and the insects are buzzing around them, I was on a mission to capture some macro photography.

Today, I am sharing some of the beautiful flowers I discovered there. I’ll let the photographs do the talking….

Close up of the centre of an African Daisy,showing the purple and white petals and blue and yellow centre.
African Daisy. (Technical Info: focal length 100mm, 1/200 at f/9, ISO 250)

 

Deep red hollyhocks
Hollyhocks (Technical Info: Focal length 100m, 1/200 at f/9.0, ISO 320)

For more floral photographs click here.

Leave a Reply

