Painted Lady Butterfly

YesterdayI mentioned that I visited Ditching Beacon, a stunning landmark North of Brighton. I love visiting the countryside as you never know what you might get the opportunity to photograph.  While I was out enjoying the meadows, a lovely butterfly settled right by my feet. I expected it to fly away as soon as I tried to take a photograph, but it didn’t move!

As it stayed still so long I was able to get my macro lens onto the camera and get up nice and close.

close up of a painted lady butterfly
Painted Lady Butterfly

It was a Painted Lady (Vanessa Cardui) butterfly, which can be seen throughout the UK. The numbers vary from year to year, but it is a fairly common butterfly.

For more images of butterflies click here.

 

 

 

One thought on “Painted Lady Butterfly

Leave a Reply

