Flirting birds

I have often watched the bizarre courtship rituals of different animals and find it really facinating.

Last night while sat in my conservatory I was disturbed by a noisy wood pigeon (Columba palumbus).

Looking out I was entertained by this bizarre act of courtship. I’ve watched pigeons courting before but never witnessed this behaviour. The male wood pigeon jumped along the fence and then started bowing. After a while he flew away, but would return a few minutes later and start all over again.

I particularly love that they were surrounded by beautiful red roses – so romantic!

Leave a Reply

