A Carpet of Flowers

This week I visited Arundel Cathedral. You may remember that I took some external photographs a few weeks ago (that post can be viewed here).  It is somewhere I have wanted to have a look around for sometime, and this week they have opened their doors for their flower festival.

Every year, to celebrate the feast of Corpus Christi, the parishioners create a magnificent carpet of flowers running the length of the aisle.

I visited while the cathedral was being prepared prior to the celebration. Everyone was busy, preparing flowers, arrange displays and laying out the carpet. I was so impressed with the care and attention everyone was paying to placing each flower head – such patience!

The other thing that hit me was the scent of flowers as you enter, it really filled the building and was wonderful!

Laying the carpet of flowers in celebration of the feast of Corpus Christi
Laying the carpet of flowers in Arundel Cathedral.

I have been really lucky to visit some interesting places on my photo adventures this week.  It has given me the opportunity to see and photograph things that I wouldn’t normally.

3 thoughts on “A Carpet of Flowers

Leave a Reply

