The planet mercury passing in front of the sun.

Mercury passing the sun

Today, the planet Mercury passed in front of the sun appearing as a small black dot.

The planet mercury passing in front of the sun.
The planet mercury passing in front of the sun.

This is a relatively rare event which can only be viewed 13 times in 100 years. It will next be seen again in 2019.

I thought I would see if I could capture this event in a photograph, so having borrowed a telescope from work, and attached the suitable filter to my camera I was all prepared. Then this morning I woke up to a cloudy sky!

I have spent the day staring at the sky hoping for a break in the clouds to capture this rare astronomical event.

Then after a while my patience was rewarded, a small break in the otherwise very overcast sky. I managed to get a glimpse of the sun, and photograph mercury. Now it might be hard to see from this photograph – but if you zoom in and look at about “9 O’clock” you will see the small black dot, which is the planet mercury.

The Telegraph wrote an interesting article about this event, so to find out more click here.

 

2 thoughts on “Mercury passing the sun

Leave a Reply

