Photographing the goldcrest bird

While at the nature reserve the other day I walked through a lovely wooded area. The information signs told me to look out for nuthatches, of which there were many, along with wrens and blue tits. 

Then I came across this little lady – a Goldcrest. Along with the firecrest this is Britains smallest bird, so I was very pleased to capture such a close up photograph. 

  

She had been flitting around from branch to branch and the settled for a minute or two on this one, where she stopped for a scratch and a look around, before flying off again. 

I’ve not seen one of these before, and it was the colourful stripe on the head which caught my eye! I was really pleased to photograph it. 

If you like my bird photographs, you may like to check out my gallery

One thought on “Photographing the goldcrest bird

Leave a Reply

