A Stroll along the river: Castle to Castle

To make up for the poor weather and resulting lack of photos taken yesterday, I decided to try again today. The forecast was looking much better, so I packed up my camera and decided to walk the next part of the river Arun.

I started the River Arun walk a few weeks ago, walking the stretch from Littlehampton to Arundel. You can read about that here.

Today I thought I would walk from Arundel to Amberley. So starting next to Arundel Castle I walked along the West bank of the river. This stretch of the river has a lot of reed beds, so didn’t make for great views of the river itself, but this was more than made up for by the stunning country side surrounding it.

Arundel Castle

The route takes you past two pretty little villages, firstly South Stoke, then North Stoke. The walk was fairly hard going due to the amount of rain we have had recently, turning the footpaths into muddy bogs!

The amount of wildlife to be seen in this area is amazing, with either swans, pheasants, herons or egrets around every bend. I was in photography heaven.

My half way point for this walk was looking down over Amberley Castle. this building is now an hotel. At this point I had to return back as I was on a tight schedule (mustn’t be late for the school run!)

Amberley Castle Hotel

I took the east bank path back towards Arundel. This side of the river had fewer reeds so gave me lovely views across the sparkling river. However, I was unable to spend as much time idling along as I would have liked, as time was running short.

Why is it when you are tight for time, that things go wrong (or is that just me?) It is usually at this point that  I will take a wrong turn and get lost. Following the river meant that wasn’t going to be a problem. No, today I lost the footpath while walking through a field to the side of the river, before I knew it I was ankle high in smelly bog water! Ahhh! Not impressed! Ironically, I discovered this boat in the next field as I turned the bend. I guess these fields get flooded then?!

Derelict boat in a field

I took this as a sign, with less than 30 minutes to get back to the car in order to pick the kids up on time, I packed my camera away, and did some speed walking back to the car. There was time for one last photo of the castle before I packed it away.

Arundel Castle and Cathedral.

I can’t believe what a stunning day it was though, a complete contrast from yesterday. Thinking about it though, that is one of the reasons I love Spring. You never know what the weather will do, and when you get a bonus gorgeous weather day like today it puts you in a really good mood!

Leave a Reply

