Photographing the Grey Heron and Reef Egret

I seem to be on a bird theme at the moment with both my photography and my blogs! Today I thought I would start with sharing a picture of the Great Heron, who was perched beside the river on a recent photo walk!

grey heron

This bird was very easy to spot, sitting upright on the opposite bank of the river. I slowly walked towards this magnificent bird with the hope of getting a closer view. I had my 300mm telephoto lens attached to the camera, but it is situations such as these that you start to realise its limitations.

I managed to get a couple of shots before it decided to fly off.

Further a long the river a came across a Reef Egret.This fella was a little more nervous of my approach, so again getting a photograph was a challenge!

Reef Egret

These are really beautiful birds and we are so lucky to have them in our neighbourhood!

 

Leave a Reply

