Photographing the Cormorant bird

The other day on my walk along the river I came across this strange looking bird! I must admit I was not sure what I was looking at, but the nature photographer in me got straight to work in capturing an image.

cormorant bird

This is often how I work, I will be out looking for a particular animal to photograph and then something else will catch my eye. This often means I don’t know what it is I have photographed until I get home and look it up!

It was the unusual shape and colours of this birds head that caught my attention as he was about to take off from the river. He was diving down under the water looking for fish, popping back up and stretching out his wings to dry. Then with great speed to took off into the air! The fast moving nature of this bird meant he was quite a challenge to photograph!

One thought on “Photographing the Cormorant bird

Leave a Reply

